Fun feeds…

September 15, 2014

@Academic Batgirl

I tend to enjoy Twitter much more than Facebook–I continue to be amazed that I can get a current Tweet from Matt Frei (@mattfrei) in Ukraine, next to one from InStyle (@InStyle), or Cooking Channel (@CookingChannel) abutting a tweet  by Christiane Amanpour (@camanour).  It is surreal, yet delightful. To me, it’s a good overview of current culture and news.

I follow lots of professional librarians and others on Twitter, but for this post, I just want to mention the ones that make me smile when I view them each day.  They are silly, sometimes irreverent, sometimes right on.  They are for fun, for thought, for relaxing–just to give the mind something to consider beyond the serious stuff of life.

Here are my top picks that I follow right now (I’m sure there are lots of great ones–use the comment and let me know!)

George Takei @GeorgeTakei
Kind, thoughtful, and often has something insightful to say.  As he says, just call him Uncle George.

From @therealbanksy

banksy @therealbanksy
This is fan site for those who enjoy Banksy’s art–lots of great visuals here that will make you think.

Shit Academics Say @AcademicsSay
Subtitled “A Social Experiment”, this site has one-liners and cartoons that are pretty spot on to the academic world.

From @ResearchMark

Research Wahlberg @ResearchMark
Funny memes similar to the Ryan Gosling “Hey girl” memes, but with Research.

R.L. Ripples @TweetsofOld
One liners from old newspapers.  Example: “A strong man gave a street exhibition here Friday evening last. He bent iron bards and broke spike nails with his teeth.” IL 1904.  Fun for history people like me.

Dr. Academic Batgirl @AcademicBatgirl
Academic focused with fun cartoon pics.

If you need more levity in your life, try some of these–they are sure to brighten your day.

Leave a Reply

