Changes, part deux…

May 30, 2014

Me and Reese

Me and Reese

So, it has been six months since I wrote in this blog.  It has been a tumultuous period of time with many life changes.  I am making adjustments in my personal life and am finally feeling like I should and can begin writing again.  Not surprisingly, my post will be about change, which was the theme of my first post back in 2011.

Change to me is:

  • Good
  • Exciting
  • Terrifying
  • Necessary

Whether personally or at work, it takes determination on my part to embrace change and make the best of it.

In my personal life, I am redefining who I am and who I want to be.  I am focusing on finding a new normal and considering what will make a fulfilling life, all within the context of being the single mom of a 13 year old boy! Yes, both exciting AND terrifying!

Professionally, I always strive to be learning better ways of connecting with the students.  To this end, some of the librarians (including me) ran a pilot program during Fall and Spring semesters called “Mobile Librarians”, where we went OUTSIDE the library and into a more populated area of campus.  We used laptops and set up 2 days per week during busy research times, answering questions and touting library services.  We are now assessing our final effort and I will post some highlights in the future. I can say it seemed to be successful and was certainly a different way of doing library business.

For both these situations, going through the changes and subsequent challenges was certainly good, exciting, terrifying, and necessary.  Did I want to quit sometimes?  Stay in bed and wallow in sadness or frustration?  Yes, many times! However, life doesn’t always go as planned.  The great thing is that you do have some control over how you write your next chapters, both at home and at work. You will need to adjust and change expectations, but there is always room for happiness and contentment.

This quote from the poem Invictus often sustains me:

I am the master of my fate,

    I am the captain of my soul.

 

****Special shout out to my awesome family and friends, without whom I could never be so strong.  I continue to be amazed at the generosity shown by everyone and will use that as an example of how to be a great friend and support to others in the future.

Leave a Reply

