Results: Unscientific ebook poll

April 14, 2013

 

Using ebooks-some basic questions

I have an ereader (Kindle, iPad, Nook, etc.)
I buy my ebooks from a vendor (Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc)
I borrow my ebooks from a library.
I didn’t know I could get ebooks from the library!
I do not have an ereader.
I plan to get an ereader in the next 6 months.
I like using my ereader.
I don’t like the idea of an ereader.
pollcode.com free polls

Here are the results of my poll of my readers on e-book use:

There was a total of 16 votes, of which 10 people responded that they had a e-reader.  Respondents could answer any questions applicable.

  • Eight of those e-reader users like using their e-reader.
  • Five people do not have an e-reader
  • Three people don’t like the idea of an e-reader
  • Eight of those who use e-readers buy books from a vendor, and seven of them get their e-reading materials from the library.
  • One person did not realize that the library had e-books available to be downloaded and used like regular borrowing materials.

The impetus of this poll was to see how it stacked up against the Pew Libraries Report (found here.)  The vast majority of those polled had e-readers, similar to the results of Pew that show more people having e-readers.  However, is this because those using social media are more technology savvy and would be more likely to have such devices? Could it be an economic thing?  Probably a combination of both.

I found it heartening that most of those who had an e-reader both bought from vendors AND used the library for e-reading materials.  Pew also states that library users are more aware of this service than in the past; however, we still have a long way to go, both with patrons and with the publishers, to make this an integrated, seamless, and permanent service.  Marketing still needs to go a long way to make sure that all our patrons know about the libraries’ support of e-reading.

There is still some out there who don’t like the idea of e-readers. I used to think, being a lover of the printed word, that I could not rely solely on electronic formats.  However, I do end up using both print and e-books equally.  For me, sometimes I read something online and then download the work related to that interest.  Other times, I will be perusing the bookstore and pick up something in print to read.  I like both.  The one thing, though, that I do miss is seeing a beloved book peeking at me from my bookshelves.  It is a reminder of a pleasant time spent together, and that doesn’t often happen with my online bookshelf.

We may just reach a balance in the not-too-distant future.  I am not sure I believe that everything will be online only, but maybe half and half, or 40% print, 60% e-book.  It will be interesting to see how the later generations, who have different experiences and points of view and who grew up with the Internet, influence or embrace one, or both.

Conclusion:  still some fear and lack of knowledge about e-readers, but e-books are here to stay.  And that’s a good thing, as the important point is that people are reading, learning, thinking, and gaining knowledge.  No matter the medium, the end result is a more educated populace.

Leave a Reply

