The year in review….and happy holidays and new year!

December 19, 2012

happy_new_year_color

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License

As part of trying to find joy and peace in each day, I wanted to consider the past year, both professionally and personally.

Professionally, things were looking up!  As I went 8 months unemployed, I finally got hired as a temp in January 2012.  This lead to a permanent, part-time adjunct job at Elgin Community College, which I am really enjoying.  I continued as Chair of the SLA Professional Development Advisory Council, and our group accomplished some good things (integrated calendar, CE decisions.)  I also got to present our group’s progress at the SLA Board meeting at the Annual Meeting in July.  I continued to serve as a public library trustee for Fox River Valley Public Library, an office which I will hold through May 2013.

I completed and published 6 book reviews for Library Journal, which I really love doing.  It expands my mind and stretches my brain, and allows me to read things I may never read otherwise.

This blog has continued to be a source of enjoyment and reflection, even as it stretches my abilities.  I wrote 41 blog posts and had nearly 1700 views this year total. My favorite posts were:

Outreach to Veterans
Hope is Not a Strategy
Punctuation-important or a thing of the past?
Seamlessness

Libraries and ebooks continue to be the big news for the year, and we will see how things play out.  I see that libraries continue to be important to our patrons.  For example, at our library, we answered about 5000 reference questions this semester alone! I still am invigorated by the profession and the students with whom I work, so I am very lucky I get to do a job I love.

On the personal front, it has been a challenging year in many ways, not just in my immediate family, but with extended family as well.  Several family members have been periodically hospitalized, and we are currently facing a loved one who is looking at a serious operation after the first of the year.  An unexpected death in summer was also a great source of sadness and reflection on the brevity of life.  It was also, in some ways, a lesson in acceptance, in loving people regardless of their decisions, and in finding a place of peace in each day to be thankful for what you do have.

Running has been one way I have been staying fit and healthy and letting my mind find peace.  Surprisingly, I ran a total of 189.5 miles Jan-Dec, for a total of 34 hours!  This from someone who really isn’t athletic or a runner.  I run about 2 miles 2-3 times per week in general, and that slow but sure has made me healthier than I have been in a long time.

My goals on a personal front are to love everyone for who they are, not who I want them to be, and to be loving and accepting in all aspects of life (personal and professional.)  Being my best and doing my best, and assuming that most times, most people are doing their best at that moment as well, are how I am trying to live.  No expectations, no regrets, and responsibility for my own happiness and being supportive of those I love.

I wish you all a happy, healthy, and peace-filled 2013.

Leave a Reply

