Checking out Wordle

April 3, 2012

Wordle is such a fun tool to use to analyze and evaluate the weight of words, and hence, what is most important that you think and feel.  I did a Wordle of my blog, and the results are below. 

Wordle: InfoPromom

It’s really simple to do a Wordle:

  1. Go to http://www.wordle.net
  2. Click on Create.
  3. Paste in either TEXT, a URL, or Delicious tags
  4. Click Submit.

You should get a Wordle cloud formed, which you can print, post to the gallery, etc.  It also gives you code that you can paste into your blog or webpage. 

Looking at my Wordle, the following words are the most prominent:

Libraries, Librarians, Library, Patrons, People, Good, Google,  Information, Need, Search, Read

What I really love about this is that it shows me what I find most important, or most relevant, to me at this point.  I like that Patrons and People feature so prominently, as that is what it is all about!

Some uses I’ve seen for Wordle are:

  • Deciding on a library name change (our local public library)
  • Marketing possibility for a corporate library (Thanks, Rachel!)

I can see using Wordle for marketing, promotion, and self-analyzing.  If you aren’t sure what others are seeing when they look at your blog or webpage, try a Wordle.  If something seems to be glaringly missing, then you can pinpoint how to fill that niche.  At the very least, Patrons and People (or some form, such as Children, Teens, Seniors, etc.) should come out close to the top.

I would love to see how others have used this in a professional setting–drop me a URL or example in the comments.

One Response to “Checking out Wordle”

  1. On http://www.txt2pic.com you can make more images with your text.

Leave a Reply

