Thing 4 blogpost: RSS, Twitter, etc.

July 8, 2011

For Thing 4, we were to explore ” a few tools that will help you to keep up-to-date and aware of goings on in the library and information world. The three tools we have chosen to explore are Twitter, RSS feeds and Pushnote.”

I agree with the facilitators that using Twitter and RSS feeds is an excellent way to keep abreast of current happenings in the library world and beyond (I wasn’t able to use Pushnote, but it sounds intriguing).  I have been using Twitter for 2 years (very sporadically) and RSS feeds for about 4-5 years.  Without being able to browse through the headlines and pick/choose on a variety of topics, I would never be able to keep up with the large amount of information that comes through each day. 

I personally used the #SLA2011 feed as a way to view what some of the most talked about sessions and keynotes were, and I actually felt able to be a small part of it, even though I couldn’t attend.  I follow a variety of people, both personal and professional, and even though I can’t keep up with every tweet, I do really feel “connected”–I think the immediacy of the medium assists with that.

Via RSS, I subscribe to a couple of really good feeds that others may be interested in:

  • David Lee King (public librarian blogger)
  • 2d Code (QR code examples and how they are being used in all areas of marketing/information)
  • In The Library with the Lead Pipe
  • No Shelf Required (ebooks)
  • Tame the Web (lots of good library stuff!)

I combine both professional and personal RSS and Twitter and then pick and choose and prioritize which to read first.

I am looking forward to seeing what other current awareness services the other participants share!

 

Leave a Reply

