Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes!

June 22, 2011

This post is part of beginning the 23 Things for Professional Development–brought on by many changes in my life!

My family was recently relocated from MN to IL and I left a very flexible and interesting job and friends, which has caused some adjustment period in my life.  I am married with one 10 year old son, and getting him into school and settled has been a big priority.  I have been at home now for 2 1/2 months and although I have kept pretty busy, I am not used to not working outside the home, which is also an adjustment.

I have been job hunting since January, even though we didn’t move until April.  However, so far, I have only gotten one interview.  I don’t know if this is because of my length of experience (15 years) or the job market.  I have attempted to follow blogs and keep up with the library world, and recently was appointed to our local public library board, in order to volunteer in my new community and learn about a different aspect of the library world.

My biggest concerns are finding a job that will be flexible or at least be something that will fit into my family life, as I feel that work-family balance is so important to overall satisfaction as a person.  I am not concerned so much with salary or advancement, as long as there is flexibility.

My main interests include a focus on customer service/user experience and hence helping people find the answers to their information needs. 

I question the role of librarians in this rapidly changing environment, which is quite different than what it was 15 years ago.  Because of the changes in the profession that I have seen, I am feeling overwhelmed and somewhat anxious over what is ahead.  I also am feeling excited, exhiliarated, and curious regarding what is to come.

This was our family’s second move in 4 years, so I have decided that my mantra should be that “change is good” and brings lots of new adventures and learning experiences.  I am interested to see how this portion of my life plays out!

Leave a Reply

